Western Victoria

The state Upper House electorate of Western Victoria spans 79,438 square kilometres and represents a mixed urban and rural electorate. The principal urban centres in the Region are Geelong, Victoria’s largest provincial city, and Ballarat, Victoria’s largest inland city. Other major towns are Colac, Warrnambool, Portland, Hamilton, Ararat, Stawell and Horsham.

Western Victoria includes the lower house districts of, Bellarine, Buninyong, Geelong, Lara, Lowan, Melton, Polwarth, Ripon, South Barwon, South-West Coast and Wendouree.

Western Victoria’s urban and rural blend affords the region a diverse economy including a sizeable tertiary education sector, manufacturing and tourism industries and a farming sector which producing mainly beef, dairy, canola and wheat. Towns such as Portland are at the core of the regions strong export industry due to their coastal locations.

Natural features include the Otway Ranges, the Grampians, Mt Arapiles, the Little Desert, Loch Ard Gorge and the Werribee and Lerderderg Gorges. The coastal resorts at Lorne, Apollo Bay and Port Fairy have become popular holiday destinations.